Kent Nagano with Bruckner

Kent Nagano with Bruckner

Kent Nagano (Foto: Antoine Saito)

Kent Nagano with Bruckner

Wed 01. Mar 2023 19.30 Grosse Tonhalle
Thu 02. Mar 2023 18.00 Kleine Tonhalle
Thu 02. Mar 2023 19.30 Grosse Tonhalle
Fri 03. Mar 2023 19.30 Grosse Tonhalle
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich
Kent Nagano Conductor
Andreas Berger Perkussion
Benjamin Forster Perkussion
Christian Hartmann Perkussion
Klaus Schwärzler Perkussion
Johann Sebastian Bach Aus «Die Kunst der Fuge» BWV 1080 (Bearbeitung für Orchester von Ichiro Nodaira)
Toshio Hosokawa Intermezzo für vier Perkussionisten aus der Oper «Stilles Meer»
Anton Bruckner Sinfonie Nr. 9 d-Moll


02. Mar 2023, 18.00 Uhr
Kleine Tonhalle
Künstlergespräch und Kammermusik Programm  

Prices CHF 145 / 120 / 95 / 70 / 35
Programme Notes
J.S. Bach, Hosokawa, Bruckner
Playlist: Bach, Hosokawa und Bruckner
News & Geschichten
Nine Facts about Bruckner's Unfinished Symphony
News & Geschichten
The Elemental Power of Cherry Blossoms
Toshio Hosokawa

When Kent Nagano conducts the Intermezzo from Toshio Hosokawa's opera "Still Sea", he should be in his element. For Nagano loves the sea, he is a passionate surfer who recognises some similarities between his hobby and his profession: "Surfing, like conducting, is about movements that don't disturb", he once said; "if a conductor makes unnatural gestures, communication doesn't work". He then topples off the musical board, so to speak - which, however, does not happen to Nagano. His sense of balance is too great, his musical understanding too deep. He will also show this in Bruckner's Symphony No. 9, where the musical waves keep rising.

Translated with DeepL.com