Freundeskreis Concert: Marek Janowski with Brahms

Freundeskreis Concert: Marek Janowski with Brahms

Marek Janowski (Foto: Felix Broede)

Freundeskreis Concert: Marek Janowski with Brahms

Thu 07. Dec 2023 18.30 Kleine Tonhalle
Thu 07. Dec 2023 19.30 Grosse Tonhalle
Fri 08. Dec 2023 19.30 Grosse Tonhalle
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich
Marek Janowski Conductor
James Ehnes Violine
Pablo Ferrández Violoncello
Johannes Brahms «Tragische Ouvertüre» d-Moll op. 81
Doppelkonzert a-Moll op. 102
Pause Robert Schumann Sinfonie Nr. 4 d-Moll op. 120


08. Dec 2023, 19.00 Uhr
mit Giulio Biaggini

Prices CHF 145 / 120 / 95 / 70 / 35
Programme Notes
Brahms und Schumann
Playlist Brahms und Schumann
Schumanns 4. Sinfonie ∙ Marek Janowski

Non-members are also welcome to attend this concert organised by the Freundeskreis. The concert will be followed by an aperitif in the concert foyer.

Johannes Brahms will be a guest at this concert in three different ways: his portrait will look down from the ceiling of the hall onto the podium, where Marek Janowski will conduct his "Tragic Overture" and his double concerto. Janowski has repeatedly attracted attention with his fresh, exciting interpretations of Brahms; and with James Ehnes and Pablo Ferrández, he will be joined by a sworn duo of soloists. In addition, Schumann's Symphony No. 4 is a work by Brahms' most important patron: "Neue Bahnen" was the title of the hymn that Schumann published in 1853 in the "Neue Zeitschrift für Musik" about the then still very young composer. In it, he praised Brahms' "utterly ingenious playing, which turned the piano into an orchestra of wailing and loudly cheering voices". What Brahms only knew how to do with a real orchestra: he later demonstrated this in the works on this programme.

Translated with DeepL.com